Four Branches of Yoga to Unite Body and Soul

In this article we'll share with you all of the benefits that yoga can bring, as well as the differences that exist between the various branches.
Four Branches of Yoga to Unite Body and Soul

Last update: 04 November, 2019

Yoga originates from ancient India and it’s a physical, mental and spiritual practice. Yoga is associated with mediation, Buddhism and Jainism. It also has different branches which focus on different aspects. Some branches focus on the physical, while others focus on spiritual, in order to find enlightenment.

When the five organs of perception quiet down, the intellect ceases to be active. This is what’s called the highest state. It involves detaching from all of the senses and it’s also known as “Katha Upanishad”.

Many people practice yoga in order to relax the mind and exercise. Some see yoga as a lifestyle and others prefer to practice it as a hobby. It’s true that yoga awakens the senses and connects with the mind, creating a bond between body and soul. In this article, we’ll share details about the four branches of yoga with the goal of helping you unite your body and soul.

Restorative yoga

This branch of yoga is ideal for people who are beginning to recover from injuries, both physical and emotional. Developed by B.K.S Lyengar, restorative yoga is a way to relax and heal the body and soul.

The yoga positions in this branch should not cause discomfort. Therefore, it will help to gradually reduce tension. Restorative yoga sessions can be accompanied by soft music and guided meditation.

Restorative yoga is ideal for people who have stressful lifestyles and for those who suffer from anxiety or headaches. This branch of yoga can be useful to calm and connect the mind while releasing tension from the body.

Ansara yoga

Ansara yoga is a branch of yoga that aims to find fluidity between the body and soul. Created by John Friend in 1997, the word Ansara comes from Sanskrit. “Anu” means “with” while “Sara” means “flow”. Therefore, it can be said that Ansara means “flow with grace,” or more loosely, “natural state”.

Ansura yoga

This branch of yoga fosters peace by integrating with the universe. It consists of different positions that stimulate various focal points (such as the heart and pelvis) and energy loops in different parts of the body.

Ansara yoga is ideal for people who enjoy the philosophy of Tantrism or intrinsic goodness. Features that stand out when it comes to Ansara yoga include the three A’s:

  • Attitude: awakens divinity.
  • Alignment: awareness of different body parts and how they connect.
  • Action: refers to the flow of natural energy in the body.

Yin yoga

Unlike other branches of yoga with origins in India, yin yoga was created in China. This branch of yoga refers to the theory of yin and yang which are opposite energy’s that represent balance when they are brought together.

The poses in yin yoga last for longer (around three minutes) than those in the other branches. Yin yoga aims to connect the different parts of the body and it’s very similar to meditation.

Kundalini yoga

Kundalini yoga

Kundalini yoga is based on the execution of positions, breathing exercises and meditation to awaken Kundalini energy. This branch of yoga originated in Nepal. Kundalini is a type of energy and the word comes from Sanskrit. Kundalini means, “snake” which is born in the mouth and lodges in the base of the spine. This branch of yoga aims to awaken Kundalini energy through different chakras and positions.

Kundalini yoga prepares the body to receive energy, in other words, it conditions the body and mind to unleash a certain type of energy. It’s a branch of yoga that provides spiritual well-being.

Yoga is an open door which leads to a long road full of teachings that will ultimately help those who practice it to connect with their inner-selves. It brings numerous physical benefits and it also contributes to spiritual and mental health. Yoga can help increase levels of peace which is useful when it comes to facing different life challenges.

Practicing any one of the four branches of yoga can guarantee a unique and rich experience. Choose the branch that suits you and works to strengthen the bond between your body and soul. You will discover new horizons.

It might interest you...
Free Weight Exercises for Weight Loss
Fit People
Read it in Fit People
Free Weight Exercises for Weight Loss

If you want to lose weight, it is possible thanks to your weight lifting exercises. Next, we tell you everything you need to know. Take note!