The Brazilian Team: Pentacampeao do mundo

The Brazilian team has won the most world cups in history. Since their first win in 1958, they've won the World Cup four more times.
The Brazilian Team: Pentacampeao do mundo

Last update: 15 August, 2020

The Brazilian soccer team is the majority world championship winner. Not only that but so far they’re the only team that participated in all editions from 1930 to 2018. They’re known as Pentacampeao do mundo for having won the World Cup five times. Below, we’ll tell you their incredible story.

Brazil has played since the first edition of the World Cup in 1930. However, they had to wait several years- and even lose on their own field in 1950- to be crowned champion. This didn’t seem to be a problem, since the nation’s soccer history has continued to grow, thanks to their star players.

The Brazilian team: five world championships

After many struggles, the Brazilian team managed to resurface and win the FIFA World Cup five times. Next, we’ll tell you all about their successes.

1. The Brazilian team: 1958 World Cup

It took place in Sweden, and 16 national teams participated. The final match took place on June 28 between the local team and the Brazilian team, who had a young Pelé in their ranks.

In this tournament, Pelé became the youngest world champion in history at just 17 years old. He scored two of the five goals for the South American team. The final score at Stockholm’s Rasunda Stadium was 5-2.

Pelé playing for Santos at age 15.

To reach this final game, Brazil was first in their group- the other teams were the Soviet Union, England and Austria- and defeated Wales 1-0 in the quarterfinals. Then, they beat France 5-2 in the semifinals.

2. 1962 World Cup

Brazil would take the next edition of the World Cup, which took place in Chile. After 1950, the tournament had been held twice in Europe. Again, there were 16 participating teams, and Brazil was in group 3 along with Czechoslovakia, Mexico and Spain.

Without issue, they finished first and went to the second phase. There, they would beat England 3-1 in the quarterfinals, and 4-2 against Chile in the semifinals.

The 1962 World Cup final would face the Brazilian team that still had Pelé among their best players. Also, Czechoslovakia was at its best. The result was 3-1 in favor of the South Americans, at the National Stadium in Santiago, Chile.

3. The Brazilian team: 1970 World Cup

Again, they traveled for the ninth edition of the World Cup. This time, it took place in Mexico, and there were 16 teams. This tournament is said to have been one of the best in history, due to the Fair Play and the attendance of players such as Pelé and Franz Beckenbauer.

Brazil shared Group 3 with England, Romania and Czechoslovakia, and came out in first winning all 3 matches. In the quarterfinals, they beat Peru 4-2, and Uruguay 3-1 in the semifinals. In fact, that was a way to get revenge on the famous Maracanazo of 1950.

The Brazilian team at the 1970 World Cup.

The final, in a packed Azteca Stadium, featured Brazil and Italy. The match ended with a forceful 4-1 in favor of the Canarinhos, with a goal from Pelé, 18 minutes into the first half.

4. 1994 World Cup

We could say that Brazil likes to play on their own continent. This edition was held in the United States, and the final was like a déjà vú, because once again, they fought hard against the Italians.

However, the result was different. In regular time, they tied without goals. They had to definite it by penalties, an instance in which the Brazilians won 3-2, and they were crowned for the fourth time in their history.

5. The Brazilian team: 2002 World Cup

The last World Cup the Brazilian team won was in the Korea-Japan edition, the first to take place in Asia. With 32 teams participating, the top champions were in Group C with Turkey, Costa Rica and China.

Brazil winning the 2002 World Cup.

In the second phase,  Brazil beat Belgium, England and Turkey. In the final, they faced off with powerful Germany at the Yokohama International Stadium. A double by Ronaldo allowed this team to become Pentacampeao do mundo.

Other facts about the Brazilian team

To conclude, another fact about the Brazilian team is that they could never seem to win on their own field when this tournament took place in 1950 and 2014. Both events were failures that cost their players a lot, especially in terms of popular opinion.

All cited sources were thoroughly reviewed by our team to ensure their quality, reliability, currency, and validity. The bibliography of this article was considered reliable and of academic or scientific accuracy.

This text is provided for informational purposes only and does not replace consultation with a professional. If in doubt, consult your specialist.