Analysis of the US Open Tennis Championship

As with most sports, certain rules can change for different venues. In the case of tennis, the US Open has a tie-break for the last set.
Analysis of the US Open Tennis Championship

Last update: 09 November, 2019

The US Open, formerly known as the United States National Tennis Championship, is the fourth and final tennis Grand Slam in the season. It takes place between August and September and has five categories. These categories are men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles, and mixed doubles.

Different from other tournaments, the US Open is held in New York and the audience often participates with cheering. And so, it’s normal for players to constantly ask for silence during the matches.

The US Open is the only tournament that includes a tie-break in the last set. Additionally, this tournament has peculiar lighting because it also involves matches played at night.

Courts and characteristics of the US Open

The central court in the US Open is the Arthur Ashe Stadium, which is in the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center. This center is home to the US Open and it’s considered to be the biggest in the world, with a total capacity of 22,547 people.

Home of the U.S. Open Tennis Championship

In 2005, the organization changed the court color, from green to blue, to improve the visualization of the ball on television. Additionally, it has a retractable roof to avoid postponing games due to weather conditions.

The US Open is a hard court, made of concrete, which makes it a fast court where the points are short. Hard courts are faster than clay or grass, thus making them appropriate for certain types of players.

The latest winners

Here are the main winners from the men’s singles US Open:

  • Roger Federer: five consecutive wins, from 2004 to 2008.
  • Rafael Nadal: 2010, 2013, and 2017.
  • Novak Djokovic: 2011, 2015 and 2018.
Djokovic has won the US Open three times

Here are the recent winners of the US Open women’s singles:

  • Serena Williams: 1999, 2002, 2008, 2012, 2013, and 2014.
  • Venus Williams: 2000 and 2001.
  • Justine Henin: 2003 and 2007.
  • Kim Clijsters: 2009 and 2010.
  • Angelique Kerber: 2017.
  • Naomi Osaka: 2018.

In men’s doubles the main winners are:

  • The Bryan brothers: Bob and Mike, have won five times, 2005, 2008, 2010, 2012, and 2014.
  • Mike Bryan: also won the 2018 men’s doubles with another partner, Jack Sock.
  • Leander Paes: three times winner with different partners, in 2006 with Martin Damm, in 2009 with Lukas Dlouhy and finally in 2013 with Radek Stepanek

In women’s doubles, the main winners are:

  • The Williams sisters: Serena and Venus, who won in 1999 and 2009.
  • Virginia Ruano and Paola Suárez: winning three consecutive years between 2002 and 2004.
  • Martina Hingis: who has won twice with Sania Mirza in 2015 and with Yung-Jan Chan in 2017.

And lastly, the mixed doubles category, with the top winners being:

  • Martina Hingis who won in 2015 with Leander Paes and again in 2017 with Jamie Murray.

This text is provided for informational purposes only and does not replace consultation with a professional. If in doubt, consult your specialist.