The Most Winning Teams in the Bundesliga

Among the most winning teams in the Bundesliga, we must separate those who won titles before and after the creation of this tournament.
The Most Winning Teams in the Bundesliga

Last update: 19 August, 2020

The German league is one of the most important tournaments in Europe and indeed, the whole world. Since its founding in 1963, there have been 56 championships. Would you like to know which clubs have been the most winning teams in the Bundesliga? Find out in the following article.

List of the most winning teams in the Bundesliga

The Federal Soccer League (or FuBball Bundesliga in German) is the highest league category in Germany. The season begins in August and ends in May. Since its first edition in 1963, twelve clubs have received the championship crown. Meet the most winning teams in the Bundesliga below:

1. Bayern Munich: the most famous among the winning teams in the Bundesliga

This is the most successful team by far. It’s taken half of the Bundesliga editions, the first in 1969, and the last in 2019. On top of that, some people also count a title they won in 1932 (when the league used to be the German Championship), giving us a total of 29 trophies.

It’s impressive to see the list of local titles that Bayern Munich has won. For example, they achieved several triple championships in 1972-1973-1974, 1985-1986-1987, and 1999-2000-2001. The Bavarian giant has won also 19 German Cups, eight German Super Cups, and six German League Cups.

A Bayern Munich player celebrating a goal

As for international titles, they’ve won one FIFA Club World Cup, five UEFA Champions Leagues, one European Super Cup, one UEFA European League, and one UEFA European Winners Cup, as well as two International Cups.

Bayern Munich was founded in February 1900. They’ve played their home games at the Allianz Arena since 2005. People usually refer to that stadium as an ‘inflatable boat’ because of its shape.

2. Borussia Dortmund (six titles)

In reality, Borussia Dortmund has eight national titles, but we’re not counting the two titles they won before the creation of the Bundesliga (1956 and 1957). An interesting fact is that the ‘black and yellow’ team was the first one to win this tournament in 1963. The other editions they won were in 1995, 1996, 2002, 2011, and 2012.

Also, this team is one of the most awarded in the country. They’ve won four German Cups and six German Super Cups. Internationally, they have one Intercontinental Cup, one Champions League, and one European Winners Cup.

Ballspielverein Borussia (its official name) was founded in 1909. They’re the third team with the highest number of members in Germany. Their emblem is a yellow circle with the initials BVB and the number 09 in black.

Borussia’s stadium is the Signal Iduna Park. It opened its doors in 1974, and it has the largest capacity in Germany. Their fan base is among the most encouraging and eye-catching in the world. The team’s classic rival is Bayern Munich.

3. Borussia Monchengladbach (5 titles)

Their German name is very long and almost unpronounceable; that’s why many people call them Die Fohlen (the foals), a nickname they received in the 1970s thanks to their fast and aggressive style of play. This Westphalian team originated in 1900 and has played in the German First Division since the 1965 season.

A player from one of the most winning teams in the Bundesliga standing in the middle of the field

Their most successful era was during the 1970s, under the direction of Udo Lattek. He managed to conquer five Bundesliga titles: 1970, 1971, 1975, 1976, and 1977. In that same decade, they also won the UEFA Cup twice and reached the finals of the European Cup (they lost to Liverpool in England).

The Monchengladbach stadium has been the Borussia-Park since 2004. This venue is famous for its northern grandstand -Nordkurve- as it’s a huge one-story grandstand. The team formerly played at the Bokelbergstadion from 1919 to 2004.

Some of the other most winning teams in the Bundesliga are Werder Bremen (four titles: 1965, 1988, 1993 and 2004), Stuttgart (three titles: 1984, 1992 and 2007), and Hamburg (three titles: 1979, 1982 and 1983). It’s worth noting that Schalke 04 has seven titles, but they won all of them prior to the creation of the Bundesliga (the last one was in 1958).

All cited sources were thoroughly reviewed by our team to ensure their quality, reliability, currency, and validity. The bibliography of this article was considered reliable and of academic or scientific accuracy.

This text is provided for informational purposes only and does not replace consultation with a professional. If in doubt, consult your specialist.